Virus In Training


MVC plugin framework for wordpress is on the go by mozey
January 9, 2007, 4:14 pm
Filed under: blog | Tags: ,

Okay, so i’m going ahead with this.

In my previous post i was venting about the lack of code organization within wordpress plugin community. Then i remembered something that my dad said, “YOU CANT BITCH ABOUT ANYTHING UNLESS YOUR WILLING TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT” (my dad) so FUDGE IT i’m going for it. I think if we gave developers the opportunity to engineer thier ideas as opposed to hack it, we will see lots of powerfull wordpress dirivatives.

So whats the big idea? bringing MVC to wordpress plugin.

I started looking into OLD code to base my framework on, and by old i mean pre RoR (ruby on rails). And indeed i found lots of little 500 line of code SIMPLE bare bone frame works that follow MVC. Which really is going to be a greate starting point for me. The one i decided to work with does’nt generate any files, it does’nt scaffold or anything like that. However, thats good, since scaffolding and file generation will be customized to wordpress’s envoroment.

If someone is reading this and want to jump aboard, let me know. I can use some help.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This is a very interesting concept, one I had never before considered. I am currently reading and following along with the Agile Web Development with Rails, and I’m loving working with a framework (Rails) that does so much of the work for me. It would be very nice to have a similar, albeit scaled-down, option in WordPress.

However, I haven’t a clue how to start developing such a framework. I would be at a loss to even figure out where to begin. I’d be interested to see what you have so far and how you propose to integrate the framework into WordPress. Would the framework itself be a plugin? Shoot me an e-mail if you’d like, or post to this blog. I’ll subscribe to your RSS feed so I can keep up with any new developments.

Comment by Jon Bourne

Thank you for your interest jon, It would be a wordpress plugin. All of your ruby script command would be generated from the admin menue of it. Even better, when you are generating a controler, you can tie a given controler action to a wordpress action hook. And you do that by selecting menues etc!.

I’m going to call this project mvcPress, and create a category for it.

Comment by mozey




Leave a Reply

